Five Years

 

This exact day, five years ago, I woke up in a daze, hardly believing that the man downstairs waiting to drive me to church in the morning would finally become my husband in just a few short hours that afternoon.

Caleb and I have been married for five years. We got married on his twenty-fifth birthday. I was still nineteen. But I couldn’t have felt more ready for this life. And it was the best decision I have made thus far in my green twenty-four years.

We have lived in three homes – two different apartments and the house where we are now living, which will hopefully be our only house. We have had three children, and I pray, will be blessed to have many more. We have traveled as far west as The Big Island in Hawaii and as far east as Outer Banks, North Carolina. There are a multitude of things we have discovered about one another throughout this beginning five years.

The one thing I see as the theme of our first years together so far is this – by improving oneself and praying diligently is change in one’s spouse achieved. You cannot force your spouse to be different. They must change themselves. But altering yourself and praying fervently for your spouse can evoke change in them. And it is incredible.

To my Beloved – I cherish you more today than I did the day that I married you – somehow my love has deepened and seasoned into something much more understood than the innocent, wide-eyed love that I loved you with that day. It fills me with joy to be the one who gets to love you and to be loved by you. My cup truly runneth over.

Here’s to us, my Love. May we continue to sharpen one another, iron against iron, into more loving, giving, patient, and humble creatures. Thank you for serving me the way that you do – I am the far more blessed one by your goodness and your selflessness, and I am honored to be your wife and to care for our house and our children. God grant you many years, Caleb, and happy thirtieth birthday.

Happy anniversary, my Husband.

I love you dearly.

 

 

Leave a Reply

